Being hit by an uninsured driver absolutely adds insult to injury.
It’s astonishing how many people don’t even have the minimum limits of insurance required by North Carolina, yet our firm sees uninsured cases every week.
Almost is bad is the number of people who ONLY drive with the absolute minimum coverage required by law. We see those cases even more often.
Under North Carolina law, every policy of automobile insurance is required to have “uninsured motorist coverage”, which is just what it sounds like: it kicks in when you’re hurt by someone who does not have automobile insurance.
North Carolina does NOT require your policy to have “underinsured coverage”, which stacks on top of the defendant’s liability coverage in the event that they don’t have enough coverage to fully compensate you for your injuries.
Since both of these types of coverage work in cases where someone ELSE has hurt you, our law allows your own insurance company to work against you as if you were a complete stranger. That means that just because you’ve had the same insurance with the same company for 30 years, they can and will treat your claim like there is no relationship there at all (many other states don’t allow this.)
If someone else has hurt you in a car accident, and they have no or too little coverage, you need advice from an experienced car accident lawyer. Our Personal Injury Team has over 50 years of combined experience in handling cases like these, and we’re glad to provide you with a free, no-risk consultation.
We’ll only take the case if we think we can help you do better with us than without us. But we need to know about the claim as soon as possible, so please contact us today by clicking here or calling us at 919-348-4361.
More About Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Using Experts and Focus Groups to Give Your Case an Edge
Handling Your Claim All the Way to the End