The North Carolina False Claims Act became effective in January of 2010. The Act allows individuals to bring whistleblower actions against individuals or companies who submit false claims to the State. The Act allows the whistleblower to recover a portion of the monetary recovery. Under the North Carolina False Claims Act the whistleblower may receive 15 to 25 percent of the monetary recovery if the State intervenes in the case, and 25 to 30 percent of the recovery if the state does not intervene and the whistleblower pursues the case on their own.
The North Carolina False Claims Act prohibits employers from retaliating against employees who act as whistleblowers. The Act identifies retaliation as firing, demoting, suspending, threatening or harassment of the employee.
To read the language of the North Carolina False Claims Act, click here.
If you are aware of fraud that is being committed against the State of North Carolina and would like to speak with an attorney for a free consultation, contact us here or by calling (919) 348-4361.
While this website provides general information, it does not constitute legal advice. The best way to get guidance on your specific legal issue is to contact a lawyer. To schedule a meeting with an attorney, please call or complete the intake form below.